Dwarf Planets Reclassified as Plutoids

The official group, The International Astronomical Union, that names objects in the solar system has come up with a category for objects formerly called “dwarf planets” or objects that circle the sun and are too small to be considered planets but are big enough to have their own gravity. These objects will now be referred to as “plutoids” after the planet that was demoted to dwarf status. The astronomical union, which is meeting in Oslo, Norway, raised a cosmic fuss two years ago when it demoted Pluto. There are only two plutoids: Pluto and Eris.



Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: